Your Mind is the First to Quit

Today, the guy who leads my bootcamp yelled to us advice that although I have heard quite a ton, left me with a new outlook on my workout regime.

As we were pushing through some gruesome circuit work with a designated partner, (Can you say suicide sprints!? UGH) he told us something along the lines of…

…keep going, keep pushing! Don’t quit because 9 out of 10 times, it is the mind that makes you stop and not your body. If you keep telling yourself you can do it, you will do it. 

Plain and simple- it’s a mind game. 

The entire journey to strong is dependent upon your mind conquering all of its doubt and defeating any bit of temptation to quit.

While I am running and feel like I just can’t go anymore, I like to think back to the reason why I started in the first place. There are times, I’ll admit, that I give in and stop because I begin to believe I just can’t do it. 

But you know? When I think that I can’t do it, I lose the game and must start over.

UGH! Don’t you just hate starting over? It is normal to start over and over and over again with your personal journey to a healthy and strong life. I mean hello! We are humans and this is supposed to happen.

With each time you feel yourself wanting to quit and truly believing that there is no way you can complete that mile run or those 5 reps of pushups you have left in your set, I want you to take a moment and breath. Repeat to yourself,

I will not lose.

I will not lose. 

I will not lose. 

Then, once you collect yourself, I want you to push harder than you ever had. I want you to feel the energy shooting out of every inch of your body. YOU are a warrior and you will NOT lose this battle. 

What astounds me is the infinite possibilities that exist within this journey to strong. If you truly follow your exercise routine, get rest, and eat well, you will be amazed at what you can do and how amazing you will feel.

Never lose sight of the reason why you began this journey in the first place.

As my bootcamp leader tells us just about every day,

HOLD YOURSELF ACCOUNTABLE. 

This journey is between you and your mind. NO ONE ELSE.

Stop allowing your mind to quit and start pushing yourself beyond your comfort level. YOU GOT THIS.

Leave a comment