How Fast Can You Go?

Arms pumping.

Strides long.

Hair flowing back.

Sweat dripping down the temples of my face.

Breaths short.

Speed. Endurance. Strength. 

Nothing is sweeter than the feeling of a good, hard run; a run where I am pushing my body to high speed and not stopping.

Generally, I am one to prefer a long and leisurely run where I let Dave Matthews’ sweet voice carry my strides a great distance. However, I am here to tell you that…

I am addicted to the feeling of a fast run.

It is interesting because when I am in a fast sprint or a timed mile, my immediate thoughts are at war within themselves due to the first moments of pain and discomfort. When I am really pushing it, I want nothing more than to stop. I feel weak or I feel like there is no way that I am going to complete this run. But, what happens after those brief moments of discomfort is absolutely incredible.

I start to feel invincible. I feel like I am flying and unstoppable.

I am not here to tell you that I am necessarily a fast runner; it is far more personal than that. When I run to the point that I know that I am pushing myself, I come alive and cannot be stopped. I am determined to continue my pace and I am determined to get better and faster than ever before.

I will let you know a little secret about how I am able to get faster each week and by no means is it by simply running the same distance over and over again. What has enabled me to run faster and faster is variability. Without a variety in your workout, it will be extremely difficult for you to truly become a faster runner. The rush I feel when I sprint comes from the work I do beyond running. Throughout the week, what needs to be emphasized is your strength training! DO NOT SKIP OUT ON YOUR WEIGHTS.

I make sure to at least get 2 to 3 days a week in of some sort of strength training, whether that be intensified body-weight training or actual weight-training in the gym. In addition to the strength training, I add in some good cardio, whether that be interval sprints, Zumba, or a longer run. Whatever your preference may be, be sure to mix it up and be persistent.

Here is a great workout that engages cardio, weight training, and body weight exercises that are sure to give you a great sweat and give you the speed you need when you go to time your mile.

1 mile of 30 second sprint/30 second rest

  • 1 min plank
  • 10 burpees
  • 25 squats

3x through, rest

  • 30 sec left side plank
  • 30 sec right side plank
  • 10 DB press up from knee (5 per side)

3x through, rest 

  • 16 DB side lunges
  • 25 Jumping Jacks
  • 5 slow full push-ups

3x through, rest 

THE END!

By that point you should be sweating and feeling oh so good about yourself!

It is my challenge for you to track your mile time each week to see how fast you can go. I guarantee you that with a variety in your workout routine, you will see a great difference and I am so excited for you to finally feel that rush that a fast run can give you!

Are you ready? LETS GO.

One thought on “How Fast Can You Go?

  1. jenburtonhpu says:

    You remind me so much of one of my personal trainers from Illinois. I love her and she was so motivating like you. I still follow her on Facebook and her posts echo many of the same themes you mention: 1) weights are important and will not make you look manly, and 2) interval training will burn more calories than just running the same speed your entire workout. While I do believe her, I have trouble explaining these concepts to others – especially the interval training one (since my Fuelband seems to disagree). With weights, I’ve had the same worry (since I am kind of thick and stocky anyways). But I have found that targeted weight training can make you look strong, feminine and beautiful. Still not sure why the interval training is better…other than it tricks your body, helps build speed and endurance, and I enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a comment