5 Promises to Yourself

We are human. Each time we look into a mirror, we tend to point out flaws. One flaw to the next, we are soon engulfed by a false perception of ourselves.

We are human. Each time we leave the gym, we tend to expect to drop a few pounds the next time we get the chance to step onto a scale.

We are human. Each time we are surrounded by other people in bathing suits, we tend to judge bodies, for better or for worse, in comparison to our own. Soon, we are theorizing diets that will enable us to look like “skinny mini” tanning by the pool.

I could go on for pages and pages about all of these circumstances in our daily lives where we take precious time away from the joys of life purely to focus on our “flaws.” Notice that I said precious time, as our lives are not eternal. In fact, once we recognize that our lives mean far more than a number on a scale, I guarantee that we will truly enjoy the life that we are living!

What I want to do is list out 5 promises that we ALL need to make to ourselves in order to lead a live of endearing love and confidence and HAPPINESS!

1. I will wake up each day and thank God I am alive!

2. I will say 3 positive things about myself when I say something negative about myself. (Thank you to my beautiful friend, Cam, for this one!)

3. I will say YES if my friends ask me to go get ice cream and enjoy the sweets of life, even if that means rainbow sprinkles and a sugar cone!

4. I will never lose faith in myself.

5. I will look into the mirror as I go to brush my teeth each night and tell myself that I am beautiful, I am strong, and I am of worth. 

Regardless of where you are with your fitness journey, I want you to stay true to these 5 things. Speaking from my own experiences, (past, present, and of course, to come) I will lose sight of what is really important in my life. I will beat myself up if I eat the wrong thing or if I didn’t go to the gym that particular day. Obviously, you want to keep yourself within a strict program, but NEVER ever let that program hold you back from living. As my future sister-in-law told me a few months ago, God did not put sweets on this earth for us not to enjoy them! So go out and enjoy what life has to offer. (in moderation, obviously!)

Focus on you and NO ONE ELSE. Believe that you are capable of becoming that strong woman you have always wanted to be and I PROMISE YOU that you will transform your life into one of pure grace, love, and serenity.

Love,

Jen 🙂

Leave a comment