Find Your Partner

I used to hate to workout with others. I thought that it would be annoying to have to wait on someone else or embarrassing if I was not at his/her level. There were various other apprehensions that held me back from finding a “gym buddy.”

Not until relatively recently did I finally decide to give it a try and boy oh boy, was it a great decision! When you have a friend with you, the workout does not seem as taunting and I guarantee that you will chat your way through reps that time will pass far too quickly!

Maybe you are like I was- timid of having another person by your side in fear of judgement, distraction, whatever! I get it, we all get it. However, wouldn’t you love to have a companion with you who is encouraging you to finish that last set to the best of your ability, who is making you laugh with silly jokes, who is keeping you up on the latest gossip, and who is working just as hard as you to get themselves in shape?

I SURE DO!!

We are all at different stages in the journey to strong and you may feel that working out with someone will just set you back; but, that is quite opposite of the truth. With a good partner, your journey will hit a new level and you will be so happy!

Obviously, not just anyone could be your gym buddy, so do not feel discouraged if your friend, Sally, does not seem to fit the mold. I find that people who may not be my closest friends serve as the best partners! I have bonded with several people through working out together and I truly believe that we have formed a deep and special relationship. When you find that special someone, you are able to be open about your goals, your setbacks, your fears, your failures, your triumphs, you name it.

I think that many a time, we like to do things on our own for various reasons, one being pride. But, the minute that you recognize that some things can and often times should be done in cohesion with someone else, things will change for the better. To feel empowered, to feel support, and to feel accountable, you should try finding your partner that will do all of those things and more!

Outside of the gym, one suggestion that I have for you and your new partner is to hold each other accountable for both of your food intake by means of texting. I started this with my brother many months ago and have since then been doing so with numerous friends. Simply take a picture of your meal and send it in a text! That way you feel motivated to eat what is right, hearty, and full of PROTEIN. (Post on protein to come!)

Little day to day things such as this are awesome to get into the habit of. Come up with other ways and see what great results it will bring!

Ultimately, it is your individual journey and it is up to YOU to get those results you want. No partner will be sitting with you all day, every day and no partner will ever be able to give you confidence. All of which comes from within.

BUT, there is strength in numbers and from my experience, having a friend with me to workout brings about a great deal of fun! (even if we are doing burpees….) So try it out and see for yourself!

One thought on “Find Your Partner

  1. What's New This Week? says:

    I personally just found out that working out with a partner really helps as well! I usually go to the gym at 7am every morning (I’m crazy I know) and I recently started going a little bit later in the day so that I can be around my friends when they go too. Makes the time go a lot faster and it’s a lot more fun when you have someone to talk to! It also helped a lot because my friend taught me a lot of new workouts. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment