Plan

It is crazy to think that I have only one more week here, to finish up my junior year in college. As always, time is flying by far too quickly and I just need it to SLOW down.

But! In nearing the end of classes and exams, I am overwhelmed with excitement for the summer! Sunshine, ocean waves, tan lines, late nights with friends, baseball games, ice cream, snowballs, reggae music, bikinis, smoothies, pina coladas, cookouts… the list could go on forever. What also gets me extremely excited is the great workouts coming my way for the next few months!

The summer is the best time of the year to focus on YOU and your healthy lifestyle. Although there are endless temptations every where you turn, it is a season that can inspire you to progress even farther toward your goals!

Something that I love to do during the summer is create a plan that I can follow week by week to ensure that I stay on track. This does not mean that I will restrict myself from all of the seasonal savory and sweet treats, just that I will up the intensity of both my workout and meal plan.

If you are like me, you are probably sick of being in a gym and want to explore the outdoors. Thankfully, the summer is your time to try out a new running path and get creative with your exercise ideas. Throughout the summer months, be sure to check back each week because I will post what fun and crazy things I get myself into with new plans!

For the time being, I am going to provide you with a broad overview of how you can structure your week during the summer. The important thing is that you find a plan that works with your schedule and your body, whatever that may be. Use mine as a sample, but don’t feel restricted to it!

Monday/Wednesday:

10x 100 yard sprints

30 sec. on/30 sec. off burpees, jumping lunges, explosive push-ups

Tuesday/Thursday: 

Full Body Strength Training 

Friday: 

1 timed-mile 

25 Hill Sprints 

Saturday:

Trail Run/Distance Run 

This is just an idea of what could work wonderfully for you! All of these things are high intensity and get your entire body engaged. Plus, you will get a nice tan as you run outside and who doesn’t love a natural, summer glow!

As for food, I will be posting more specifically in the next few weeks. But essentially this is as easy as your food plan should be. Don’t over complicate it!

Breakfast: Protein, Carb, Veggie/Fruit

Mid-Morning Snack OR Afternoon Snack: Protein, Veggie/Fruit

Lunch: Protein, Veggie/Fruit, (Carb if you worked out in AM)

Dinner: Protein, Veggie/Fruit

Essentially, you want to stay away from mostly ALL processed food and focus on meat, fresh veggies and fruit. Here is a list compiled for you to choose from for each meal. If it’s on the list- you’re golden! If not, it is NOT worth it. For this posting, I am just interested in good protein and good carbs.

Protein: chicken, turkey, tuna, cottage cheese, plain greek yogurt, eggs, fish, pork, steak, almonds, quinoa, walnuts

Carb: oatmeal, banana, grapes, brown rice, sweet potato, baked potato,steel cut oats, legumes, rice cakes

There is more to come, but this is a plan just to get you started! Do you research and I will offer all that I have learned. The next few months are YOUR TIME to CONQUER. Be ready to sweat hard, eat good, and feel GREAT! 🙂

Love,
Jen

2 thoughts on “Plan

Leave a comment